Pirates News · Winter Sports Information


Winter sports are almost here. Please see below for everything you need to know for winter sports!

1.) CONTACT THE COACH ASAP TO CONFIRM YOU ARE TRYING OUT

WINTER SPORTS CONTACTS FOR EVERY TEAM
Sport Coach Email
Boys Basketball Anthony Parker bbasketball@wcsd.k12.oh.us
Girls Basketball Lonzy Addison gbasketball@wcsd.k12.oh.us
Bowling Debbie Hotopp wcbowlingcoach@gmail.com
Swimming Taylor McNally tmcnally@wcsd.k12.oh.us
Wrestling Josh Collier wrestling@wcsd.k12.oh.us

If you are interested in middle school sports, you should contact the coach listed above and they will get you all of the information and connect you with the middle school coaches. We do this in order to get our high school coaches familiar with the middle school student-athletes and parents as well. Our varsity coaches are in charge of the entire program, high school and middle school.

 

2.) COMPLETE YOUR ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS (Physical & FinalForms)

In order to participate at tryouts, all student-athletes must have the following items completed:

  1. Valid sports physical on file with the Athletic Department
  2. FinalForms parent and student forms completed (pay to participate isn’t due at the time of tryouts)

For step-by-step information and to print off a blank physical, CLICK HERE

A member of the Athletic Department will be at the first day of tryouts to ensure everyone has these steps done. There are no exceptions to this rule. If you have any questions about FinalForms that are not answered on the link above, please email the Athletic Director at eivory@wcsd.k12.oh.us or FinalForms Support at support@finalforms.com

 

3.) ACADEMIC ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS TO TRYOUT

In order to tryout and make a team, student-athletes must have received a cumulative GPA above 1.5 in the preceding grading period, and pass 5 credit hours. At the high school level, Physical Education does not count as a credit hour. If you have any questions about this, please email the AD.

 

4.) ACADEMIC ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS TO PARTICIPATE WHEN THE SEASON STARTS

In order to participate in any scrimmages, games, or showcases,  student-athletes must have a current quarterly GPA above 2.0. Once tryouts are completed, coaches will communicate information regarding weekly grade checks and study tables. 

 

5.) QUESTIONS & CONTACT INFORMATION

Role Name Email
Athletic Director Evan Ivory eivory@wcsd.k12.oh.us
Middle School AD Amanda Henderson ahenderson@wcsd.k12.oh.us
Athletic Secretary Penny Stanley pstanley@wcsd.k12.oh.us
Athletic Trainer Chris Cameron christopher.cameron@ketterinhealth.org
Final Forms Support support@finalforms.com